ECE Academic Professional Joyelle Harris was one of 40 individuals from the metro Atlanta area who were honored at the 2017 Atlanta Business Chronicle 40 Under 40 Awards.
ECE Professor Robert J. Butera has been named as a Distinguished Lecturer for the IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society (EMBS) for a two-year term, which began on January 1, 2018 and will end on December 31, 2019. 
EAS Professor Felix Herrmann has been named as a 2019 Distinguished Lecturer for the Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG) for the period covering January through June 2019.
Manos Antonakakis has been appointed to the Dean’s Professorship, effective June 1, 2020. 
Christopher W. Jones, C. David Sherrill, and Howie Weiss earn top honor from peers in scientific community.
The chair position is awarded to outstanding tenured faculty who have demonstrated excellence in research and teaching, as well as leadership in the campus Hispanic community
Election to NAE is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer.
Applications for inaugural class are due Dec. 8, 2016.