Ju’s research interest primarily focuses on creating scalable optimization algorithms with applications to problems such as decision making under uncertainty.
The award recognizes those who have made notable contributions to the motivation and encouragement of research through education.
Alexopoulos is the first person to receive both awards in the same year.
This lecture series has been held annually for 20 years and consists of a general lecture and a more specialized lecture by an internationally prominent statistical scientist.
At the annual Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS) conference, a number of faculty members and students from Georgia Tech’s Stewart School of Industrial & Systems Engineering (ISyE) received awards for presentations and
ISyE announced that Coca-Cola Chair in Engineering Statistics and Professor Jeff Wu has been honored with the American Society for Quality’s 2017 Brumbaugh Award.
ISyE professor Jianjun “Jan” Shi has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering’s Class of 2018. Election to the NAE is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer.
The Outstanding Professional Education Award recognizes a faculty member for their contribution to the field of professional education at Georgia Tech.
Numerous ISyE faculty members and Ph.D. students received recognition for their research.
In announcing Shapiro’s election to the prestigious organization, the NAE commended him for “contributions to the theory, computation, and application of stochastic programming.”