Provost Steven W. McLaughlin has convened a search committee tasked with selecting the Vice Provost for Faculty. The search will be chaired by Leslie Sharp, Dean of Libraries.  

This is an internal search open to faculty members at Georgia Tech, with preference for those currently or previously holding tenure. This position reports to the Provost.

View Position Description


Finalists Chosen in the Vice Provost for Faculty Search

Three finalists have been chosen in the Vice Provost for Faculty search. As part of the final selection process, candidates will present a seminar on their vision for the role. The hour-long seminars are open to all Georgia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Interested individuals can watch virtually in real-time or watch a post-event video recording of each candidate presentation. 
The finalists are listed below in order of their campus seminar presentations. Additional details, including each respective candidate’s curriculum vitae, seminar link, and feedback survey can be found by clicking on the names below. Survey forms for the candidates will be available through midnight on Friday, January 21. 

  • Dawn Baunach, Associate Vice Provost for Graduate Education and Faculty Development, will present a virtual seminar on Friday, January 14 from 9:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.  
  • Ana (Annie) Antón, Professor, School of Interactive Computing, and ADVANCE Professor, College of Computing, will present a virtual seminar on NEW DATE: Tuesday, January 18 from 9:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.  
  • Michelle Rinehart, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Outreach, College of Design, will present a virtual seminar on Wednesday, January 19 from 9:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m. 

Apply - Deadline: November 28

Applicants should apply through OneUSG Connect via the path below: 

  1. Login to Techworks 
  2. Click on the OneUSG Connect tile 
  3. When OneUSG Connect opens, change the drop-down at the top from Employee Self Service to Recruiting Self Service 
  4. Click the Apply for Jobs tile (use job code 235803).
  5. If you have any difficulty accessing the OneUSG Connect system, please send your CV, cover letter, and list of references directly to Mary Thomas:

Search Committee 

Leslie Sharp - Dean of Libraries (Committee Chair)
Matthew Baker - Professor of Mathematics and Associate Dean, College of Sciences
David Bamburowski - Director of Academic and Research Faculty Affairs
Tineke Battle - Talent Management Department Director, GTRI
Maribeth Coleman - Principal Research Scientist, Interactive Media Tech Center
Tom Conte - Associate Dean for Academic Computing, College of Computing
Soumen Ghosh - Professor and Senior Associate Dean of Faculty and Research, Scheller College of Business
Christopher Jones - Chair and Professor, School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering    
EunSook Kwon - Chair and Professor, School of Industrial Design
Richard Utz - Associate Dean for Faculty Development, Professor of Literature, Media and Communication
Brandi Foley-Rodgers and Tai Winters - Director and Manager, Human Resources, Office of the Provost (ex-officios)
Mary Thomas - Program Manager Senior, Office of the Provost (ex-officio, search support)

Search Timeline 

Search Phases Dates
Launch (Communication to Community) By November 5
Preferred Deadline to Apply November 28
Vetting of Candidates & Committee Interviews December
Finalists’ Campus Interviews and Seminars Early to Mid-January
Announcement Late January