Wang Appointed as IEEE MTT-S Distinguished Microwave Lecturer



Hua Wang has been appointed as a Distinguished Microwave Lecturer for the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S) for the period of 2022-2024. Wang is an associate professor in the Georgia Tech School of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE).

An IEEE MTT-S Distinguished Microwave Lecturer typically deliver five to seven talks per year. For each class of these lecturers, only three or four are selected worldwide each year. Manos Tentzeris, who is ECE’s Ken Byers Professor in Flexible Electronics, previously served in this role from 2010-2012.

During his two-year term as an IEEE MTT-S Distinguished Microwave Lecturer, Wang will lecture on broadband and energy-efficient RF/mm-Wave/THz integrated circuits and systems for beyond-5G and 6G communications and sensing. He will also speak on wireless systems for ultra-reliable low latency communications (URLLC), sensing, and hardware security.

Wang is the director of the Georgia Tech Center of Circuits and Systems (CCS), and he leads the Georgia Tech Electronics and Micro-Systems (GEMS) Lab. His research interests include innovating analog, RF, mm-Wave, and THz integrated circuits and hybrid systems for wireless communications, sensing, and bioelectronics applications.

Wang is the recipient of the 2020 DARPA Director's Fellowship, 2020 Qualcomm Faculty Award, 2018 DARPA Young Faculty Award, 2017 IEEE MTT-S Outstanding Young Engineer Award, and 2015 National Science Foundation CAREER Award. He held the Georgia Tech ECE Demetrius T. Paris Professorship from 2014-2018.

Yu to Receive Inaugural SRC Young Faculty Award





Shimeng Yu

Shimeng Yu has been named as the recipient of the inaugural Semiconductor Research Corporation (SRC) Young Faculty Award. 

An associate professor in the Georgia Tech School of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE), Yu will be presented with the award at the annual SRC TECHCON meeting, to be held September 9-10, 2019 in Austin, Texas. He is also a member of the Institute for Electronics and Nanotechnology. This new award is presented to an untenured full-time faculty member who is a principal investigator (PI) or co-principal investigator working on research that greatly enriches the SRC research agenda.

Yu has been a member of Tech’s ECE faculty since August 2018, where he leads the Laboratory for Emerging Devices and Circuits. Yu is involved in several SRC projects. 

  • Yu is a member of the Applications and Systems-Driven Center for Energy-Efficient Integrated NanoTechnologies (ASCENT), which is part of the SRC/DARPA Joint University Microelectronics Program. ASCENT's mission is to provide breakthrough advances in integrated nanoelectronics to sustain the promise of Moore’s Law. Led by the University of Notre Dame, along with 13 partner universities and 29 principal investigators, the Center is funded for $49 million over five years. Yu's specific research within ASCENT develops emerging nanoelectronic devices that emulate the synapses and neurons to build hardware platforms for machine learning and neuromorphic computing. 
  • He is a member of the SRC nanoelectronic COmputing REsearch (nCORE) program, in particular the Energy-Efficient Computing: From Devices to Architectures (E2CDA) program. In this effort, jointly funded with the National Science Foundation, Yu is developing a software simulation framework to benchmark the emerging device technology's impact on artificial intelligence across the layers from algorithms, computer architecture, and circuit and chip design down to devices and materials. 
  • Yu is a PI of the SRC Global Research Collaboration (GRC) program on a project for hardware security. He and his colleagues are designing a fingerprint of microchips with emerging nanoelectronic devices for authentication and encryption. 

The SRC is a global industrial technology research consortium. With its highly regarded university research programs, SRC plays an indispensable part in the R&D strategies of some of industry's most influential entities.Companies who are SRC members include Intel, IBM, Micron, Samsung, ARM, and Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company, Ltd.

Yu Chosen for DAC Under-40 Innovators Award



Shimeng Yu

Shimeng Yu has been named as a recipient of the IEEE/ACM Design Automation Conference Under-40 Innovators Award. This award recognizes the top young innovators who have made a significant impact in the field of design and automation of electronics. 

Yu will be recognized at the 57th Design Automation Conference (DAC), which will be held July 20-24 in a virtual format. He and two other recipients of this award will participate at the award session being held virtually on July 24 at 5 pm during the DAC event at

Yu is an associate professor in the Georgia Tech School of Electrical and Computer Engineering. He received the B.S. degree in microelectronics from Peking University in 2009 and the M.S. degree and Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from Stanford University in 2011 and 2013, respectively. From 2013 to 2018, he was an assistant professor at Arizona State University.

Yu’s research expertise is focused on the emerging non-volatile memories for applications such as deep learning accelerators, neuromorphic computing, monolithic 3D integration, and hardware security. His group has done pioneering work in the open-source DNN+NeuroSim framework development for machine learning hardware benchmarking. His publications are well recognized in the community, with more than 11,000 citations and an H-index of 53 by Google Scholar. 

Among Yu’s honors include the NSF Faculty Early CAREER Award in 2016, the IEEE Electron Devices Society (EDS) Early Career Award in 2017, the ACM Special Interests Group on Design Automation (SIGDA) Outstanding New Faculty Award in 2018, and the Semiconductor Research Corporation (SRC) Young Faculty Award in 2019. 

Yu is active in professional service. He served or is serving with many premier conferences on technical program committees, including the ACM/IEEE DAC, IEEE International Electron Devices Meeting (IEDM), IEEE Symposium on VLSI Technology, ACM/IEEE Design, Automation, & Test in Europe (DATE), and ACM/IEEE International Conference on Computer-Aided-Design (ICCAD). He is a senior member of the IEEE.

The ACM/IEEE Design Automation Conference is recognized as the premier event for the design of electronic circuits and systems, and for electronic design automation and silicon solutions. A diverse worldwide community representing more than 1,000 organizations attends each year, including system designers and architects, logic and circuit designers, validation engineers, CAD managers, senior managers, and executives to researchers and academicians from leading universities.

Subscribe to hardware security