Five Georgia Tech Faculty Members Receive Regents Recognition

The University System of Georgia (USG) Board of Regents (BOR) has appointed four Georgia Tech faculty members as Regents Professor, and one as Regents Researcher. The titles represent the highest academic and research recognition bestowed by the USG.

The four Regents Professors are:

  • Surya Kalidindi, professor in the George W. Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering.
  • Gerhard J. (John) Krige, Melvin Kranzberg Professor in the History of Technology in the Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts.
  • Elizabeth Mynatt, Distinguished Professor in the College of Computing and executive director of the Institute for People and Technology (IPaT).
  • Haesun Park, professor of Computational Science and Engineering in the College of Computing and director of the Center for Data Analytics.

The Regents Researcher is:

  • Margaret L. Loper, principal research scientist at the Georgia Tech Research Institute.

“We are incredibly proud to celebrate our Georgia Tech colleagues as they are recognized by the Board of Regents,” said Rafael L. Bras, provost and executive vice president for Academic Affairs and the K. Harrison Brown Family Chair. “These new titles are a demonstration of distinction and achievement in their respective disciplines and their commitment to teaching and research excellence.”

Each year, the college deans may nominate two academic faculty members for the Regents Professor title and one research faculty member for the Regents Researcher title. The Georgia Tech Research Institute may nominate two research faculty members for Regents Researcher. The titles are awarded upon approval by the USG chancellor and its Committee on Academic Affairs — only with unanimous recommendation by the university’s president, the executive vice president for Research, the chief academic officer, the appropriate academic dean, and three other faculty members.

The nominations were approved by the BOR at their May 14 meeting. During the meeting, the BOR also approved the renewal of the title of Regents Professor for Vladimir Tsukruk, Dean’s Distinguished Professor of Engineering in the School of Materials Science and Engineering, Nicholas Hud, professor in the School of Chemistry and Biochemistry, and Sy Goodman, professor in the Sam Nunn School of International Affairs. They also approved the renewal of the title of Regents Researcher for Alexa Harter, laboratory director of the Cybersecurity, Information Protection, and Hardware Evaluation Research (CIPHER) Laboratory.

Related Media

Click on image(s) to view larger version(s)

  • SuryaKalidindi

  • Regents Professors and Researchers

  • Gerhard John Krige

  • Beth Mynatt Distinguished Professor

  • Haesun Park

  • Loper

For More Information Contact

Susie Ivy
Institute Communications | Office of the Provost